Recent News: Awards

May 4, 2017

Welcome to our regular update on genre awards, where we keep you up to date with all the major awards. Award season is in full swing and we’ve got the details on the latest awards and nominations.

Did we miss an award you think we should be keeping track of? Let us know and we’ll get right on it.



Bram Stoker Awards

Superior Achievement in a Novel
Elizabeth Hand, Hard Light: A Cass Neary Crime Novel (Minotaur Books)
Stephen Graham Jones, Mongrels (William Morrow)
John Langan, The Fisherman (Word Horde) *WINNER
Bracken MacLeod, Stranded: A Novel (Tor Books)
Paul Tremblay, Disappearance at Devil’s Rock (William Morrow)

Superior Achievement in a First Novel
Barbara Barnett, The Apothecary’s Curse (Pyr Books)
Greg Chapman, Hollow House (Omnium Gatherum Media)
Tom Deady, Haven (Cemetery Dance Publications) *WINNER
Michelle Garza and Melissa Lason, Mayan Blue (Sinister Grin Press)
Stephanie Wytovich, The Eighth (Dark Regions Press)

Superior Achievement in a Young Adult Novel
Maria Alexander – Snowed (Raw Dog Screaming Press) *WINNER
Jennifer Brozek, Last Days of Salton Academy (Ragnarok Publishing)
Elle Cosimano, Holding Smoke (Hyperion-Disney)
Jeyn Roberts, When They Fade (Knopf Books for Young Readers)
Alexandra Sirowy, The Telling (Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers)

Superior Achievement in a Graphic Novel
Cullen Bunn, Blood Feud (Oni Press)
Alex de Campi, No Mercy, Vol. 2 (Image Comics)
James Chambers, Kolchak the Night Stalker: The Forgotten Lore of Edgar Allan Poe (Moonstone) *WINNER
Mark Alan Miller and Joe R. Lansdale, The Steam Man (Dark Horse Books)
Alan Moore, Providence, Act 1 (Avatar Press)
Robert Kirkman, Outcast by Kirkman & Azaceta, Vol 3 This Little Light (Image Comics)

Superior Achievement in Long Fiction
Nicole Cushing, The Sadist’s Bible (01Publishing)
Scott Edelman, That Perilous Stuff (Chiral Mad 3) (Written Backwards)
Victor LaValle, The Ballad of Black Tom (
Josh Malerman, The Jupiter Drop (You, Human) (Dark Regions Press)
Tim Waggoner, The Winter Box (DarkFuse) *WINNER

Superior Achievement in Short Fiction
Michael Bailey, Time is a Face on the Water (Borderlands 6) (Borderlands Press)
Hal Bodner, A Rift in Reflection (Chiral Mad 3) (Written Backwards)
Christopher Golden, The Bad Hour (What the #@&% is That?) (Saga Press)
Lisa Mannetti, Arbeit Macht Frei (Gutted: Beautiful Horror Stories) (Crystal Lake Publishing)
Joyce Carol Oates, The Crawl Space (Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine Volume #2016/Issue#8) (Dell Magazines)

Superior Achievement in a Fiction Collection
Laird Barron, Swift to Chase (JournalStone)
Richard Chizmar, A Long December (Subterranean Press)
Gene O’Neill, Lethal Birds (Omnium Gatherum Media)
Joyce Carol Oates, The Doll-Master and Other Tales of Terror (Mysterious Press) *WINNER
Hank Schwaeble, American Nocturne (Cohesion Press)

Superior Achievement in a Screenplay
Josh Campbell, Damien Chazelle and Matthew Stuecken, 10 Cloverfield Lane
Matt Duffer and Ross Duffer, Stranger Things: The Vanishing of Will Byers
Matt Duffer and Ross Duffer, Stranger Things: The Upside Down
Robert Eggers, The Witch *WINNER
John Logan, Penny Dreadful: A Blade of Grass (Episode 03:04)

Superior Achievement in an Anthology
Michael Bailey, Chiral Mad 3 (Written Backwards)
Alessandro Manzetti, The Beauty of Death (Independent Legions Publishing)
Thomas F. Monteleone and Olivia F. Monteleone, Borderlands 6
(Samhain Publishing, Ltd.) *WINNER

Billie Sue Mosiman, Fright Mare-Women Write Horror (DM Publishing)
Doug Murano and D. Alexander Ward, Gutted: Beautiful Horror Stories
(Crystal Lake Publishing)

Superior Achievement in Non-Fiction
Leo Braudy, Haunted: On Ghosts, Witches, Vampires, Zombies and Other Monsters of the Natural and Supernatural (Yale University Press)
Ruth Franklin, Shirley Jackson: A Rather Haunted Life (Liveright Publishing Corporation) *WINNER
Danel P. Olson, Guillermo del Toro’s “The Devil’s Backbone” and “Pan’s Labyrinth”: Studies in the Horror Film (Centipede Press)
W. Scott Poole, In the Mountains of Madness: The Life, Death and Extraordinary Afterlife of H. P. Lovecraft (Soft Skull Press)
David J. Skal, Something in the Blood: The Untold Story of Bram Stoker, the Man Who Wrote Dracula (Liveright Publishing Corporation)
John Tibbetts, The Gothic Worlds of Peter Straub (McFarland)

Superior Achievement in a Poetry Collection
Bruce Boston and Alessandro Manzetti, Sacrificial Nights (KippleOfficinaLibraria)
Michael R. Collings, Corona Obscura: Poems Dark and Elemental (self-published)
Jeannine Hall Gailey, Field Guide to the End of the World: Poems (Moon City Press)
Marge Simon, Small Spirits (Midnight Town Media)
Stephanie M. Wytovich, Brothel (Raw Dog Screaming Press) *WINNER





Voting is open to all online until June 2nd.

Legend (Best Novel)
John Gwynne, Wrath (Tor)
Jay Kristoff, Nevernight (Thomas Dunne Books)
Mark Lawrence, The Wheel of Osheim (Ace Books)
Brandon Sanderson, The Bands of Mourning (Tor)
Gav Thorpe, Warbeast (Black Library)

Morningstar (Best Debut)
Mark De Jager, Infernal (Del Rey)
Christopher Husberg, Duskfall (Titan Books)
Megan E. O’Keefe, Steal the Sky (Angry Robot)
Adrian Selby, Snakewood (Orbit)
Jon Skovron, Hope and Red (Orbit)

Ravenheart (Best Cover Art)
Alessandro Baldasseroni for Black Rift by Josh Reynolds
Jason Chan for The Wheel of Osheim by Mark Lawrence
Sam Green for The Bands of Mourning by Brandon Sanderson
Kerby Rosanes for Nevernight by Jay Kristoff
Paul Young for Wrath by John Gwynne



Best translated novel
Ann Leckie (transl. Hideko Akao), Imperial Radch trilogy (Tokyo Sogensha)
Ken Liu (transl. Furusawa Yoshimichi), The Grace of Kings (Hayakawa)
Steven Millhauser (transl. Shibata Motoyuki), Enchanted Night (Hakusuisha)
Claire North (transl. Hiromi Amehima), The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August (Kadokawa)
John Sladek (transl. Yanagishita Kiichiro), Roderick (Kawade Shobo Shinsha)
Peter Tieryas (transl. Naoya Nakahara), United States of Japan (Hayakawa)
Jack Vance (transl. Asakura Hisashi & Akinobu Sakai), Jack Vance Treasury 1 (Magnus Ridolph), (National Publications Association)

Best translated story
Greg Egan (transl. Makoto Yamagishi), Seventh Sight (Hayakawa Shobo 4/16)
Harlan Ellison (transl. Ito Norio), The DeathbirdThe Deathbird and Other Stories 
Thomas Olde Heuvelt (transl. Jun Suzuki), The Day the World Turned Upside Down (Hayakawa Shobo 6/16)
Ken Liu (transl. Yoshimichi Furusawa), Simulacrum (Hayakawa Shobo 12/16)
Dan Simmons (transl. Sakai Akinobu), The Guiding Nose of Ulfant Banderoz (Hayakawa Shobo 8/16)
James Tiptree, Jr (transl. Kazuko Onoda), Backward, Turn Backward, Crown of Stars 



The shortlist for Best Fan Artist has been revised after Garner notified the Hugo administrators that his body of published work in 2016 was professional art rather than fan art. Consequently, Garner has been disqualified and Steve Stiles has been added to the ballot.

Best Fan Artist
Ninni Aalto
Alex Garner
Vesa Lehtimäki
Likhain (M. Sereno)
Spring Schoenhuth
Mansik Yang
Steve Stiles



Becky Chambers, A Closed and Common Orbit, Hodder & Stoughton
Yoon Ha Lee, Ninefox Gambit, Solaris
Emma Newman, After Atlas, Roc
Tricia Sullivan, Occupy Me, Gollancz
Lavie Tidhar, Central Station, PS Publishing
Colson Whitehead, The Underground Railroad, Fleet



May 2017: Locus Award and Shirley Jackson Awards shortlisted
20th May 2017: Nebula Award announced
20th May 2017: voting closes for the Aurora Awards
28th May 2017: Compton Crook Award announced
June 2017: Mythopoeic Awards,  British Fantasy Awards and Sunburst Awards shortlisted


Anna Chapman

No Comments

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: