Recent News: World Fantasy Awards

November 4, 2016

Welcome to the first in a new series on genre awards. Here we’ll be keeping you up to date with recent wins, shortlists and closing dates for nominations for all the major awards. We’re kicking off with the World Fantasy Awards, presented at the World Fantasy Convention 2016 in Columbus, Ohio on 27-30 October.

Did we miss an award you think we should be keeping track of? Let us know and we’ll get right on it.




David G. Hartwell
Andrzej Sapkowski

Kazuo Ishiguro, The Buried Giant (Knopf/Faber & Faber)
N. K. Jemisin, The Fifth Season (Orbit)
Naomi Novik, Uprooted (Del Rey Books/Macmillan UK)
K. J. Parker, Savages (Subterranean Press)
Paul Tremblay, A Head Full of Ghosts (William Morrow & Co.)
Anna Smaill, The Chimes (Sceptre)  *WINNER 

Usman T. Malik, “The Pauper Prince and the Eucalyptus Jinn” (, Apr. 22, 2015)
Kim Newman, “Guignol” (Horrorology, edited by Stephen Jones, Jo Fletcher Books)
Kelly Robson, “Waters of Versailles” (, June 10, 2015)
Bud Webster, “Farewell Blues” (The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction, Jan./Feb. 2015)
 Kelly Barnhill, The Unlicensed Magician (PS Publishing)  *WINNER 

Selena Chambers, “The Neurastheniac” (Cassilda’s Song, ed. Joseph S. Pulver, Sr. Chaosium Inc)
Amal El-Mohtar, “Pockets” (Uncanny Magazine, Jan.-Feb. 2015)
Sam J. Miller, “The Heat of Us: Notes Toward an Oral History” (Uncanny Magazine, Jan.-Feb. 2015)
Tamsyn Muir, “The Deepwater Bride” (The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction, July/Aug. 2015)
Alyssa Wong, “Hungry Daughters of Starving Mothers” (Nightmare magazine, Oct. 2015)  *WINNER

Ellen Datlow, ed., The Doll Collection (Tor Books)
S. T. Joshi, ed., Black Wings IV: New Tales of Lovecraftian Horror (PS Publishing)
Joseph S. Pulver, Sr., ed., Cassilda’s Song: Tales Inspired by Robert W. Chambers’ King in Yellow Mythos (Chaosium Inc.)
Simon Strantzas, ed., Aickman’s Heirs (Undertow Publications)
Silvia Moreno-Garcia and Paula R. Stiles, eds., She Walks in Shadows (Innsmouth Free Press)  *WINNER

Leena Krohn, Leena Krohn: Collected Fiction (Cheeky Frawg Books)
V. H. Leslie, Skein and Bone (Undertow Publications)
Kelly Link, Get in Trouble (Random House)
James Morrow, Reality by Other Means: The Best Short Fiction of James Morrow (Wesleyan University Press)
Mary Rickert, You Have Never Been Here (Small Beer Press)
C. S. E. Cooney, Bone Swans (Mythic Delirium Books)  *WINNER

Richard Anderson
Julie Dillon
Kathleen Jennings
Thomas S. Kuebler
Galen Dara  *WINNER

Neil Gaiman, Dave Stewart, and J. H. Williams III, The Sandman: Overture (Vertigo)
Robert Jordan, Harriet McDougal, Alan Romanczuk, and Maria Simons, for The Wheel of Time Companion: The People, Places and History of the Bestselling Series (Tor Books)
Joe Monti, for contributions to the genre
Heather J. Wood, for Gods, Memes and Monsters: A 21st Century Bestiary (Stone Skin Press)
Stephen Jones, for The Art of Horror (Applause Theatre Book & Cinema Book Publishers)  *WINNER

Scott H. Andrews, for Beneath Ceaseless Skies: Literary Adventure Fantasy
Jedediah Berry and Eben Kling, for The Family Arcana: A Story in Cards (Ninepin Press)
Alexandra Pierce and Alisa Krasnostein, for Letters to Tiptree (Twelfth Planet Press)
Lynne M. Thomas and Michael Damian Thomas, for Uncanny Magazine
Helen Young, for Tales After Tolkien Society
John O’Neill, for Black Gate: Adventures in Fantasy Literature  *WINNER




James Tiptree, Jr Literary Award

Closing date: 1st December 2016

The Tiptree Award is bestowed each year on 1 or 2 works of speculative fiction which explore or expand gender. The final decision is taken by a panel of 5 jurors, and announced a month or so in advance of the awards ceremony (2017 dates and location TBC).

Who can nominate? Anyone

How do I nominate? Online nomination form


Aurealis Awards

Closing date: 7th December 2016

Australia’s premier awards for speculative fiction are for works written by an Australian citizen or permanent resident, with winners to be announced at Swancon 2017 (13-17 April) in Perth, Western Australia.

Categories: Best SF Short Story, Best SF Novella, Best SF Novel, Best Fantasy Short Story, Best Fantasy Novella, Best Fantasy Novel, Best Horror Short Story, Best Horror Novella, Best Horror Novel, Best YA Short fiction, Best YA Novel, Best Children’s, Best Collection, Best Anthology, Best Illustrated Book / Graphic Novel

Who can nominate? Australian authors and publishers

In theory, anyone can nominate, but the expectation is that it will be authors and their representatives as there is a fee per nomination in all categories except Short Story and Children’s categories.

How do I nominate? Online nomination form


BSFA Awards

Closing date (1st round): 31st December

The BSFA awards are fan awards presented annually by the British Science Fiction Association. The awards seek to honour and promote the genre of science fiction. A second round of voting will follow in January, with the winners announced at Eastercon 2017 (14-17 April) in Birmingham, UK.

Categories: Best Novel, Best Short fiction, Best Artwork, Best work of Non-Fiction

Who can nominate? BSFA members

How do I nominate? Online nomination form




Anna Chapman

No Comments

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: