Upcoming Releases: March 20 – 26, 2016

March 19, 2016

Here’s a rundown of the books we think you should look out for in coming in the week. See any that you are really looking forward to? Find any you had not heard of yet? Know of books we missed?

We know we don’t have everything and would love to hear what you feel we may have overlooked.

 

FANTASY          URBAN FANTASY           SCIENCE FICTION           HORROR

 

 

FANTASY


Shadow and FlameShadow and Flame (Ascendant Kingdoms, #4) by Gail Z. Martin
Published by Orbit on March 22nd 2016
Pages: 672

 LibraryThing button-amazon book-depository-button audible-button

From Gail Z. Martin, one of the most exciting writers of fantasy adventure, comes the fourth and final novel in the epic Ascendant Kingdoms Saga.Blaine McFadden and his allies have brought magic back under mortal command and begun to restore order to the beleaguered kingdom of Donderath. Now, new perils and old enemies gather for a final reckoning. Foreign invaders, a legendary dark mage and vengeful immortals fight Blaine's battered forces for control of the continent, and Blaine's weary army is the only thing standing between a kingdom struggling to rise from the ashes and a descent into fury and darkness.

 

World's EndWorld's End by Will Elliott
Published by Tor Books on March 22nd 2016
Pages: 432

 LibraryThing button-amazon book-depository-button audible-button

When Eric Albright, a luckless London slacker, and his pal Stuart Casey went through a battered red door under a railway bridge, the last thing they expected to find was another world. There lay the strange, dark realm of Levaal, whose tyrant lord Vous has ascended to godhood. The great wall which has divided the land has been brought down, setting loose a horde of demonic Tormentors. In their sky prisons, the dragons are stirring, set to defy their slumbering creator and steal humanity's world.

Shilen, a dragon cloaked in human form, has convinced Eric and Aziel, Vous's daughter, to help free the dragons from their sky-prison, or Earth will be destroyed. She promises great power, and safety for all Eric's favoured people, but Shilen has an ulterior motive, for the dragons wish to control humankind completely.

In Will Elliott's World's End, the third volume in The Pendulum Trilogy, Levaal is facing the final battle in this age-old war between worlds and forces more ancient than any human, god, or dragon.

 

Eagle in ExileEagle in Exile (The Clash of Eagles Trilogy #2) by Alan Smale
Published by Del Rey on March 22nd 2016
Pages: 576

 LibraryThing button-amazon book-depository-button audible-button

Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell, Steve Berry, Naomi Novik, and Harry Turtledove, Alan Smale’s gripping alternate history series imagines a world in which the Roman Empire has survived long enough to invade North America in 1218. Now the stunning story carries hero Gaius Marcellinus deeper into the culture of an extraordinary people—whose humanity, bravery, love, and ingenuity forever change his life and destiny.  In A.D. 1218, Praetor Gaius Marcellinus is ordered to conquer North America and turning it into a Roman province. But outside the walls of the great city of Cahokia, his legion is destroyed outright; Marcellinus is the only one spared. In the months and years that follow, Marcellinus comes to see North America as his home and the Cahokians as his kin. He vows to defend these proud people from any threat, Roman or native.   After successfully repelling an invasion by the fearsome Iroqua tribes, Marcellinus realizes that a weak and fractured North America won’t stand a chance against the returning Roman army. Worse, rival factions from within threaten to tear Cahokia apart just when it needs to be most united and strong. Marcellinus is determined to save the civilization that has come to mean more to him than the empire he once served. But to survive the swords of Roma, he first must avert another Iroqua attack and bring Cahokia together. Only with the hearts and souls of a nation at his back can Marcellinus hope to know triumph.

 

SCIENCE FICTION


TransgalacticTransgalactic: A novel by James Edwin Gunn
Published by Tor Books on March 22nd 2016
Pages: 224

 LibraryThing button-amazon book-depository-button audible-button

Transgalactic: the latest novel in Hugo Award Winner James Gunn's SF Grandmaster Career!

When Riley and Asha finally reached the planet Terminal and found the Transcendental Machine, a matter transmission device built by an ancient race, they chose to be "translated." Now in possession of intellectual and physical powers that set them above human limitations, the machine has transported them to two, separate, unknown planets among a possibility of billions.

Riley and Asha know that together they can change the galaxy, so they attempt to do the impossible--find each other.

 

Titan's FallTitan's Fall by Zachary Brown
Published by Saga Press on March 22nd 2016
Pages: 224

 LibraryThing button-amazon book-depository-button audible-button

In book two of the fast-paced Icarus Corps series, the team wages war on the Conglomeration—and this battle may be the final one.

The rapacious Confederation has taken their war to our solar system.
Now that the human and PAC forces won a decisive battle on the moon, they need to try to head off the coming armada before their overpowering strength is amassed and The Icarus Corps is once again on the front line.

Book two in The Icarus Corps, Titan’s Fall continues Devin’s adventures as he wards off a fierce race of alien conquerors.

 


 

FANTASY          URBAN FANTASY           SCIENCE FICTION           HORROR

Shadow and Flame Martin, Gail Z. 3/22/2016 Orbit
World’s End Will Elliott 3/22/2016 Tor
Transgalactic James Gunn 3/22/2016 Tor
Eagle in Exile Alan Smale 3/22/2016 Del Rey
Titan’s Fall Zachary Brown 3/22/2016 Saga
Share this:
Lisa Taylor
See Me.

Lisa Taylor

I read. Mainly fantasy. Sometimes horror or science fiction. I like books that have a dark side and am not a fan of happy fairy tales. I also have a tendency to tell people what I think of these books (and hopefully why!)

You can also find me blogging about books at Tenacious Reader
Lisa Taylor
See Me.

Related Post

One Comment

  • Maddalena@spaceandsorcery March 19, 2016 at 11:59 am

    This is the first time I hear about Alan Smale’s work, but I’m very, very intrigued, and I will look up book one in his saga: something tells me I will enjoy it. Thanks for sharing!

%d bloggers like this: