Upcoming Releases: March 6 – 12, 2016

March 5, 2016

Here’s a rundown of the books we think you should look out for in coming in the week. See any that you are really looking forward to? Find any you had not heard of yet? Know of books we missed?

We know we don’t have everything and would love to hear what you feel we may have overlooked.

 

FANTASY          URBAN FANTASY           SCIENCE FICTION

 

 

FANTASY


SpidersWarThe Spider's War (The Dagger and the Coin, #5) by Daniel Abraham
Published by Orbit on March 8th 2016
Pages: 492

 LibraryThing button-amazon book-depository-button audible-button

The epic conclusion to The Dagger and The Coin series, perfect for fans of George R.R. Martin.
Lord Regent Geder Palliako's great war has spilled across the world, nation after nation falling before the ancient priesthood and weapon of dragons. But even as conquest follows conquest, the final victory retreats before him like a mirage. Schism and revolt begin to erode the foundations of the empire, and the great conquest threatens to collapse into a permanent war of all against all.
In Carse, with armies on all borders, Cithrin bel Sarcour, Marcus Wester, and Clara Kalliam are faced with the impossible task of bringing a lasting peace to the world. Their tools: traitors high in the imperial army, the last survivor of the dragon empire, and a financial scheme that is either a revolution or the greatest fraud in the history of the world.

 

 

The Lyre ThiefThe Lyre Thief by Jennifer Fallon
Published by Tor Books on March 8th 2016
Pages: 448
Our reviews of this author: The Lyre Thief

 LibraryThing button-amazon book-depository-button audible-button

Ten years have passed since the events of the Demon Child books that left the god Xaphista dead, the nation Karien without a religion or king and the matriarchal country of Medalon ruled by men. But it is in the kingdoms of the south that things really heat up. When Princess Rakaia of Fardohnya discovers she is not of royal birth, she agrees to marry a much older Hythrun noble in a chance to escape her 'father's wrath. Rakaia takes nothing but her jewels and her base-born half-sister, Charisee, who has been her slave, handmaiden and best friend since she was six years old. And who can pass as Rakaia's double.
These two sisters embark on a Shakespearian tale of switched identities, complicated love triangles...and meddlesome gods. Rakaia is rescued on the road by none other than the Demon Child, R'shiel, still searching for a way to force Death to release her near immortal Brak. Charisee tries to act like the princess she was never meant to be and manages to draw the attention of the God of Liars who applauds her deception and only wants to help.
Then there is the little matter of the God of Music's magical totem that has been stolen...and how this theft may undo the universe.
Powerful magics, byzantine politics, sweeping adventure, and a couple of juicy love stories thrown in for good measure, The Lyre Thief is classic Fallon that is sure to appeal to her fans.

 

 

Paper MenagerieThe Paper Menagerie and Other Stories by Ken Liu
Published by Saga Press on March 8th 2016
Pages: 464
Our reviews of this author: The Grace of Kings, The Paper Menagerie and Other Stories, The Wall of Storms

 LibraryThing button-amazon book-depository-button audible-button

A publishing event: Bestselling author Ken Liu selects his award-winning science fiction and fantasy tales for a groundbreaking collection—including a brand-new piece exclusive to this volume.
With his debut novel, The Grace of Kings, taking the literary world by storm, Ken Liu now shares his finest short fiction in The Paper Menagerie. This mesmerizing collection features all of Ken’s award-winning and award-finalist stories, including: “The Man Who Ended History: A Documentary” (Finalist for the Hugo, Nebula, and Theodore Sturgeon Awards), “Mono No Aware” (Hugo Award winner), “The Waves” (Nebula Award finalist), “The Bookmaking Habits of Select Species” (Nebula and Sturgeon award finalists), “All the Flavors” (Nebula award finalist), “The Litigation Master and the Monkey King” (Nebula Award finalist), and the most awarded story in the genre’s history, “The Paper Menagerie” (The only story to win the Hugo, Nebula, and World Fantasy awards).
A must-have for every science fiction and fantasy fan, this beautiful book is an anthology to savor.

 

 

ForestOfMemoryForest of Memory by Mary Robinette Kowal
Published by Tor.com on March 8th 2016
Pages: 88
Our reviews of this author: Ghost Talkers

 LibraryThing button-amazon book-depository-button audible-button

Katya deals in Authenticities and Captures, trading on nostalgia for a past long gone. Her clients are rich and they demand items and experiences with only the finest verifiable provenance. Other people’s lives have value, after all.
But when her A.I. suddenly stops whispering in her ear she finds herself cut off from the grid and loses communication with the rest of the world.
The man who stepped out of the trees while hunting deer cut her off from the cloud, took her A.I. and made her his unwilling guest.
There are no Authenticities or Captures to prove Katya’s story of what happened in the forest. You’ll just have to believe her…

 

 

ThoseBelowThose Below (The Empty Throne #2) by Daniel Polansky
Published by Hodder & Stoughton on March 10th 2016 (UK)
Our reviews of this author: The Builders, A City Dreaming

 LibraryThing button-amazon book-depository-button audible-button

For centuries humanity has served Those Above, god-like Eternals who rule from their cloud-capped mountain-city.
They built a civilization of unimagined beauty and unchecked viciousness.
They thought themselves invincible.
They were wrong.
The story that began in Those Above comes to an explosive conclusion in this unforgettable battle for the hearts and minds of the human race.

 

 

 

URBAN FANTASY


Fire Touched by Patricia BriggsFire Touched (Mercy Thompson, #9) by Patricia Briggs
Published by Ace on March 8th 2016
Pages: 352
Our reviews of this author: Fire Touched, Silence Fallen

 LibraryThing button-amazon book-depository-button audible-button

Mercy Thompson has been hailed as “a heroine who continues to grow and yet always remains true to herself.”* Now she’s back, and she’ll soon discover that when the fae stalk the human world, it’s the children who suffer...   Tensions between the fae and humans are coming to a head. And when coyote shapeshifter Mercy and her Alpha werewolf mate, Adam, are called upon to stop a rampaging troll, they find themselves with something that could be used to make the fae back down and forestall out-and-out war: a human child stolen long ago by the fae.   Defying the most powerful werewolf in the country, the humans, and the fae, Mercy, Adam, and their pack choose to protect the boy no matter what the cost. But who will protect them from a boy who is fire touched?   *Library Journal

 

 

MarkedInFleshMarked in Flesh (The Others, #4) by Anne Bishop
Published by Penguin/Roc on March 8th 2016
Pages: 416
Our reviews of this author: Marked in Flesh

 LibraryThing button-amazon book-depository-button audible-button

For centuries, the Others and humans have lived side by side in uneasy peace. But when humankind oversteps its bounds, the Others will have to decide how much humanity they’re willing to tolerate—both within themselves and within their community...
Since the Others allied themselves with the cassandra sangue, the fragile yet powerful human blood prophets who were being exploited by their own kind, the delicate dynamic between humans and Others changed. Some, like Simon Wolfgard, wolf shifter and leader of the Lakeside Courtyard, and blood prophet Meg Corbyn, see the new, closer companionship as beneficial—both personally and practically.
But not everyone is convinced. A group of radical humans is seeking to usurp land through a series of violent attacks on the Others. What they don’t realize is that there are older and more dangerous forces than shifters and vampires protecting the land that belongs to the Others—and those forces are willing to do whatever is necessary to protect what is theirs…

 

 

SCIENCE FICTION


Cold BetweenThe Cold Between (Central Corps, #1) by Elizabeth Bonesteel
Published by Harper Voyager on March 8th 2016
Pages: 528

 LibraryThing button-amazon book-depository-button audible-button

When her crewmate Danny is murdered on the colony of Volhynia, Central Corps engineer Commander Elena Shaw is shocked to learn the main suspect is her lover, Treiko Zajec. She knows Trey is innocent—he was with her when Danny was killed. So who is the real killer and why are the cops framing an innocent man?
While retracing Danny’s last hours, they discover that his death may be tied to a mystery from the past: the destruction of a Central Corps starship at a wormhole near Volhynia. For twenty-five years, Central Gov has been lying about the tragedy, even willing to go to war with the outlaw tribe PSI to protect their secrets.
With the authorities closing in, Elena and Trey head to the wormhole, certain they’ll find answers on the other side. But the truth that awaits them is far more terrifying than they ever imagined—a conspiracy deep within Central Gov that threatens all of human civilization throughout the inhabited reaches of the galaxy . . . and beyond.

 

 

 


 

FANTASY          URBAN FANTASY           SCIENCE FICTION


 

 

The Spider’s War Abraham, Daniel 3/8/2016 Orbit
Fire Touched Briggs, Patricia 3/8/2016 Ace
Marked In Flesh Bishop, Anne 3/8/2016 Roc
Lyre Thief Jennifer Fallon 3/8/2016 Tor
The Cold Between Elizabeth Bonesteel 3/8/2016 Harper Voyager
The Paper Menagerie Ken Liu 3/8/2016 Saga
Forest of Memory Mary Robinette Kowal 3/8/2016 Tor.com
Those Below Daniel Polansky 3/10/2016 Hodder & Stoughton
Lisa Taylor
See Me.

Lisa Taylor

I read. Mainly fantasy. Sometimes horror or science fiction. I like books that have a dark side and am not a fan of happy fairy tales. I also have a tendency to tell people what I think of these books (and hopefully why!)

You can also find me blogging about books at Tenacious Reader
Lisa Taylor
See Me.

Latest posts by Lisa Taylor (see all)

One Comment

  • Maddalena@spaceandsorcery March 5, 2016 at 8:33 am

    M.R. Kowal captured my imagination with the Glamourists Series, so I really can’t wait to sample something in a different genre.

%d bloggers like this: